Jump to content

Close
Photo

Phpbb Arcade


  • Please log in to reply

#1
InternetMafia

Posted 12 October 2008 - 08:59 PM

InternetMafia

    Newbie

  • Downloader
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
Click to view battle stats
I currently have a PHPBB arcade with about 2000 games.

Will this games beable to convert to a SMF arcade?

If so can I do a mass upload according to categories the games are in?

Thanks in advance for all the help.

#2
Ken

Posted 13 October 2008 - 12:01 AM

Ken

    Regular Joe

  • Subscriber - Platinum
  • PipPipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Gender:Male
Click to view battle stats

I currently have a PHPBB arcade with about 2000 games.

Will this games beable to convert to a SMF arcade?

If so can I do a mass upload according to categories the games are in?

Thanks in advance for all the help.


Dont know the answer to that one m8 never used the Phpbb arcade, but did not want the post to go as though no one has read it.

#3
tezzag

Posted 13 October 2008 - 05:20 AM

tezzag

    Management

  • Subscriber - Platinum
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Queensland Australia
Click to view battle stats
If your asking can you move the games folder from phpBB to Smf and use it i think the answer would be a no, if you have kept a copy of all the games in a tar format you could upload them in ftp and bulk add them to SMF
If your considering a switch to SMF i would recommend using E-Arcade and not SMF Arcade

Please do NOT PM staff members unless asked to or the matter is of a sensitive nature and cannot be displayed in the forums


#4
Ken

Posted 13 October 2008 - 02:46 PM

Ken

    Regular Joe

  • Subscriber - Platinum
  • PipPipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Gender:Male
Click to view battle stats
Had to sleep on this and think about it. The chances of the arcade sql tables and fields being the same would be nearly impossible and therefore unlikely to done.

#5
InternetMafia

Posted 13 October 2008 - 10:18 PM

InternetMafia

    Newbie

  • Downloader
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
Click to view battle stats

Had to sleep on this and think about it. The chances of the arcade sql tables and fields being the same would be nearly impossible and therefore unlikely to done.


I have the tars. I am willing to bulk upload them to E-Arcade.

That is not a problem.

What folders to I put the files in to see if they will run?

#6
InternetMafia

Posted 13 October 2008 - 10:30 PM

InternetMafia

    Newbie

  • Downloader
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
Click to view battle stats

I have the tars. I am willing to bulk upload them to E-Arcade.

That is not a problem.

What folders to I put the files in to see if they will run?


Just checked. I have a huge majority of the tars.

How do I do a mass upload

#7
tezzag

Posted 14 October 2008 - 12:17 AM

tezzag

    Management

  • Subscriber - Platinum
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Queensland Australia
Click to view battle stats
using a good ftp program upload to the temp games folder on your server, to add them to the arcade go into acp and select arcade admin > autoinstall scroll to the bottom of the page and you should see a list of the games you added to temp games folder - below the list it has install and a selector for which category you want them added to

Try it with a couple of games first to see it works ok then you can add them in bulk if you have no problems (if uploading in bulk i wouldnt do anymore than 100 at a time)

Hope that helps you :)

Please do NOT PM staff members unless asked to or the matter is of a sensitive nature and cannot be displayed in the forums


#8
InternetMafia

Posted 14 October 2008 - 03:52 AM

InternetMafia

    Newbie

  • Downloader
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
Click to view battle stats

using a good ftp program upload to the temp games folder on your server, to add them to the arcade go into acp and select arcade admin > autoinstall scroll to the bottom of the page and you should see a list of the games you added to temp games folder - below the list it has install and a selector for which category you want them added to

Try it with a couple of games first to see it works ok then you can add them in bulk if you have no problems (if uploading in bulk i wouldnt do anymore than 100 at a time)

Hope that helps you :)


Well I gave it a shot. Installed them. Saw them on the list. Hit install and got "No Game File PHP Info Found"

It looks like when I tried to autoinstall them from the temp games folder it created two folders in there. Arcade and includes. Dont know what to really do at this point

Probably have to buy a membership here and do some massive downloading

#9
tezzag

Posted 14 October 2008 - 05:50 AM

tezzag

    Management

  • Subscriber - Platinum
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Queensland Australia
Click to view battle stats
unfortunately a lot of the games for phpBB didnt have php files in them so depending on where you got them from as to them having the correct files, SMF uses the php info to automatically add the game

Please do NOT PM staff members unless asked to or the matter is of a sensitive nature and cannot be displayed in the forums


#10
Ken

Posted 14 October 2008 - 02:54 PM

Ken

    Regular Joe

  • Subscriber - Platinum
  • PipPipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Gender:Male
Click to view battle stats
If the games you get from here auto install then each game has a file in its root folder (uncompress) one to your hard drive and you will see the structure of the file. Once you have a file for each game you would then have to rebuild the game archive using game_flashfilename.tar Here is an example of the file:

gname = the exact name of the flash (SWF) file minus the extension.
gtitle = is what is displayed in the arcade
bgcolor = is the flash background color, you can try 000000 if you dont know and experiment
gwidth = flash file width if you dont know suggest trying 400
gheight = flash file height if you dont know try 400
active = leave as is
gcat = leave as is
highscore_type = whether the highscore should be the lowest or highest (golf would normally be set to low)
gwords = Short game description
object = Object of the game
gkeys = what game keys used


<?php

$config = array(

gname	 =>  "Frogeee_v32",
gtitle	=>   "Frogeee",
bgcolor	=>   "FFFFFF",
gwidth	=>   "600",
gheight	=>	"400",
active	=>   "1",
gcat	 =>  "1",
highscore_type  =>  "high",

//optional leave blank if not using
gwords	=>   "Frogeee",
object	=>   "Move the frog through each level collecting as many points as you can",
gkeys	 =>   "Arrow keys and space bar",

);?>


#11
InternetMafia

Posted 14 October 2008 - 08:31 PM

InternetMafia

    Newbie

  • Downloader
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
Click to view battle stats

If the games you get from here auto install then each game has a file in its root folder (uncompress) one to your hard drive and you will see the structure of the file. Once you have a file for each game you would then have to rebuild the game archive using game_flashfilename.tar Here is an example of the file:

gname = the exact name of the flash (SWF) file minus the extension.
gtitle = is what is displayed in the arcade
bgcolor = is the flash background color, you can try 000000 if you dont know and experiment
gwidth = flash file width if you dont know suggest trying 400
gheight = flash file height if you dont know try 400
active = leave as is
gcat = leave as is
highscore_type = whether the highscore should be the lowest or highest (golf would normally be set to low)
gwords = Short game description
object = Object of the game
gkeys = what game keys used

 
 <?php
 
 $config = array(
 
 gname	 =>  "Frogeee_v32",
 gtitle	=>   "Frogeee",
 bgcolor	=>   "FFFFFF",
 gwidth	=>   "600",
 gheight	=>	"400",
 active	=>   "1",
 gcat	 =>  "1",
 highscore_type  =>  "high",
 
 //optional leave blank if not using
 gwords	=>   "Frogeee",
 object	=>   "Move the frog through each level collecting as many points as you can",
 gkeys	 =>   "Arrow keys and space bar",
 
 );?>


Thanks for the help guys. But I would rather pay the 40 bucks and go on a downloading spree from here. Rebuilding the zips to 3000 games does not sound appealing to me. Thanks though for the help.

#12
tezzag

Posted 14 October 2008 - 11:02 PM

tezzag

    Management

  • Subscriber - Platinum
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Queensland Australia
Click to view battle stats
No problems, its a big job to do but i am sure you will like using SMF - i never regretted the change from phpBB

Please do NOT PM staff members unless asked to or the matter is of a sensitive nature and cannot be displayed in the forums





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users